Office hour: Mon - Fri

07h30 - 18h30

Call us for any questions

+41 32 313 33 44

Bahnhofstrasse 87,

3232 Ins

TENS

TENS

The transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS; English transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation) is an electromedical electrical stimulation therapy with mono- or (mostly) biphasic square pulses (alternating current) low frequency, 2-4 Hz (low), or high frequency, 80-100 Hz (high ), which is mainly used to treat pain (analgesia) and to stimulate muscles. The current forms can be the burst tens either as a constant pulse train of square needle pulses or as an interrupted pulse train. The TENS method was developed in the 1970s. Experiments with neurostimulation have been carried out for a long time, but a rational application did not begin until the gate control theory of pain (Patrick David Wall / Bill Sweet, C. Norman Shealy et al.).
The electrical impulses are transmitted to the surface of the skin via electrodes. Frequencies between 1 and 100 Hz are commonly used. The electrodes are placed near the painful areas. The stimulus itself is not painful. At most, a tingling sensation can be felt on the skin. When irritated with “high”, irritation occurs directly over the painful area or the nerve that supplies this area of skin (dermatome). The irritation with “low” should be selected if the aftereffect of “high” is not long enough.
The aim of this therapy is to influence so-called afferent nerve tracts (stimulus tracts of the central nervous system from the periphery to the brain, i.e. sensitive nerve tracts serving to conduct pain) in such a way that the transmission of pain to the brain is reduced or prevented. The pain threshold should be raised by the TENS. According to the gate control hypothesis, it is assumed that, on the one hand, the body's own inhibiting mechanisms for the pain fibers in the spinal cord are activated by stimulating afferent, rapidly conducting A-delta fibers. On the other hand, descending inhibitory nerve tracts should be stimulated and the endorphin release increased. TENS therapy is used for muscle stimulation, after operations or (sports) injuries

Sprechstunde: Mon - Fre

07h30 - 18h30

Rufen Sie uns bei Fragen an

+41 32 313 33 44

Bahnhofstrasse 87,

3232 Ins

TENS

TENS

Die transkutane elektrische Nervenstimulation (TENS; englisch transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation) ist eine elektromedizinische Reizstromtherapie mit mono- oder (meist) biphasischen Rechteckimpulsen (Wechselstrom) niedriger Frequenz, 2–4 Hz (Low), oder hoher Frequenz, 80–100 Hz (High), die vor allem zur Behandlung von Schmerzen (Analgesie) und zur Muskelstimulation eingesetzt wird. Die Stromformen können sowohl als konstante Impulsfolge von Rechtecknadelimpulsen, oder aber als unterbrochene Impulsfolgen, den Burst Tens sein. Die TENS-Methode wurde in den 1970er Jahren entwickelt. Experimente mit Neurostimulation wurden zwar schon länger durchgeführt, eine rationale Anwendung setzte aber erst mit der Gate-Control-Theory der Schmerzen ein (Patrick David Wall/Bill Sweet, C. Norman Shealy u. a.).
Über Elektroden werden die elektrischen Impulse auf die Hautoberfläche übertragen. Gewöhnlich werden Frequenzen zwischen 1 und 100 Hz verwendet. Die Elektroden werden dabei in der Nähe der schmerzenden Stellen platziert. Der Reiz selbst ist nicht schmerzhaft. Allenfalls ist ein Kribbeln auf der Haut zu spüren. Bei Reizung mit „high“ wird direkt über dem schmerzhaften Gebiet oder dem Nerv, der dieses Hautgebiet versorgt, (Dermatom) gereizt. Die Reizung mit „low“ ist zu wählen, wenn die Nachwirkung von „high“ nicht lange genug ist.
Ziel dieser Therapie ist es, sogenannte afferente Nervenbahnen (Reizbahnen des Zentralen Nervensystems von der Peripherie zum Gehirn, also der Schmerzleitung dienende, sensible Nervenbahnen) so zu beeinflussen, dass die Schmerzweiterleitung zum Gehirn verringert oder verhindert wird. Die Schmerzschwelle soll durch die TENS heraufgesetzt werden. Dabei geht man entsprechend der Gate-Control-Hypothese davon aus, dass zum einen körpereigene Hemmmechanismen für die Schmerzfasern im Rückenmark aktiviert werden, indem afferente, rasch leitende A-delta-Fasern gereizt werden. Zum anderen sollen absteigende hemmende Nervenbahnen angeregt und die Endorphinfreisetzung gesteigert werden. Ach wird TENS-therapie eingesetzt zum Mukelstimulation, nach Operationen oder (Sport) Verletzungen